Glimpse - twenty-nine short preludes for piano, video and soundscape

Mayall, Jeremy Mark (2017) Glimpse - twenty-nine short preludes for piano, video and soundscape. Hamilton, 28 October 2017.

PDF (Cover and Title Pages of score) - Cover Image
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution No Derivatives.


Abstract or Summary

A multimedia composition. Twenty-nine short preludes for piano, video and soundscape. 'Glimpse' is a new multi-media artwork incorporating live music, projected video, and soundscape created by filmmaker Dan Inglis and composer Dr. Jeremy Mayall. This innovative new piece combining experimental film concepts and contemporary art music blurs the line between conventional cinema and pure concert music. The work is a suite of 29 individual but intertwined audio-visual vignettes. Film footage appropriated from The British Council (British Council New Zealand) Film Collection of short documentaries is reedited, reimagined, and recontextualised by Inglis and paired with original piano preludes and soundscapes by Mayall creating a wholly new performance work where the music informs the image, and the image informs the music. TRAILER:

Item Type:Composition
Keywords that describe the item:glimpse, piano, video, soundscape, composition, score
Subjects:M Music and Books on Music > M Music
Divisions:Schools > School of Media Arts
ID Code:5592
Deposited By:
Deposited On:19 Dec 2017 21:05
Last Modified:19 Dec 2017 21:05

Repository Staff Only: item control page